Death Certificates

Obtaining a copy of a death certificate

  • Email Facebook Twitter Google+

Overview

The St. Louis City Recorder and Registrar is a Certified Copy Center for:

  • 1980 to Present Missouri Certificates of Death for All Missouri Counties,including St. Louis City (standard issue legal document generated from Missouri Vital Records Database)
  • 1910-1979 St. Louis City Death Certificates (from copies of originals,without amendments, without corrections). Incomplete Collection.No records for 1960-1964.
  • Pre-1910 St. Louis City Death Register Transcripts  

Preparation

Who may apply for a copy of Death Certificate:

A member of the deceased immediate family, which includes those family members and in-law in direct line of decent up to, but not including, cousins.

His/Her guardian or official representative ie: Attorney, Funeral Director, Doctors

All family members, genealogist representing a family member and professionally recognized genealogist. 

Walk-In Customers - Hours are from 8:30 - 4:30 Monday - Friday
  • You must have a valid Driver's License, State Identification Card, or other acceptable government issued photo identification to apply for a Missouri Death Certificate copy in person.
  • Your address on Application (copy request form) must match your address on photo identification.   
  • If you do not have photo identification, a qualified family member with photo identification may apply for the copy.

Instructions

  • Download and complete the appropriate form.  As of 02.28.2011, the Missouri Department of Health requires notarization of your signature on the Mail-In Application. 

Application for copy of  Death Certification

  • Mail Form or Bring Form to: 
Death Records Department
St. Louis City Recorder and Registrar
City Hall, Room 127, 1200 Market Street
St. Louis, Missouri 63103

8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday
Contact 314.613.3016 -E-mail
  • Include completed application form, a legal size, self-addressed stamped envelope and check or money order for the search fee. Do not send cash
  • Please do not call for record look-ups.
  • Please do not e-mail copy requests.

Fees

  • Non-Refundable $13.00 per record. 
  • $10 for each additional copy
  • Mail-In Customers Add 50¢ for
    return mail if you do not provide
    Self-Addressed-Stamped-Envelope

Payment Method

  • Cash, Money Order, Business Check
    made out to: Vital Records
  • No Personal Checks
  • ATMs on First Floor, City Hall
    same floor as Recorder and Registrar
    Room 104 (License Collector)
    Room 109 (Collector of Revenue)
 

What to Expect

When a record is found: Your payment is used as a Copy Fee and you will be issued one computer generated Certified Copy of the record.

Search Entails:
  • 5-Year Search: 2 years before and 2 years after Date of Death provided by customer on Application for the name provided by customer.
  • When a record is not found: Your payment is used as a Search Fee.

Additional Information

For information about requesting a correction or change on a Missouri death certificate, contact the Bureau of Vital Records:

Death Records: 573-751-6378

 

Contact

Recorder of Deeds and Vital Records Registrar

(314) 622-4610

1200 Market St
City Hall Room 126
St. Louis, Missouri 63103-2881

8:00 AM to 5:00 PM M - F No Saturday hours

Contact the Recorder of Deeds and Vital Records Registrar

Was this helpful?      
Comments are helpful!
500 character limit
Feedback is anonymous.